Experiencing a crisis? Call 911 or use 988 to call or text the Suicide & Crisis Lifeline.


On March 30, 2011, Governor Mike Beebe signed HB 1778, also known as The Jason Flatt Act, into law.

The Jason Flatt Act of Arkansas
HB 1778
Act 77 of the Regular Session
Effective with the 2012-2013 School Year

Arkansas is the sixth state to pass this Act. This legislation requires mandatory teen suicide awareness and prevention training for certain individuals.

Major components of the legislation are:

  1. Beginning with the 2012-2013 school year, mandatory suicide awareness and prevention training is required for all licensed personnel.
  2. Two hours of in-service training in teen suicide awareness and prevention is required once every five years.
  3. The in-service training shall count toward the satisfaction of requirements for professional development in the Standards for Accreditation of Arkansas Public Schools and School Districts and for licensure requirements for licensed personnel.
  4. This education may be accomplished through self-review of suitable suicide prevention material approved by the Department of Education.

Additional Resources

Arkansas – State Stat Page

National Community Affiliates
Acadia Health
Lifepoint Behavioral Health
Signature Healthcare Services
National Awareness Affiliates
Attorneys General