Experiencing a crisis? Call 911 or use 988 to call or text the Suicide & Crisis Lifeline.

Professional Development Series: Alaska

Senate Bill 137, also known as The Jason Flatt Act, was passed during the 2012 legislative session.  Governor Sean Parnell signed the bill into law on May 23, 2012.

The Jason Flatt Act of Alaska
SB 137
Chapter 34 SLA 2012

Alaska is the ninth state to pass the Jason Flatt Act.  This legislation requires mandatory youth suicide awareness and prevention training for certain school personnel.

Major components of the legislation are:

  1. Mandatory training for each teacher, administrator, counselor and specialist who provides services to public school students in grades 7-12.
  2. In-service training must include two hours of youth suicide awareness and prevention education each school year.
  3. Training is required in order to maintain or renew their teaching license.
  4. This education may be accomplished through self-review of suitable suicide prevention material.

Each of The Jason Foundation Staff Development Modules has been developed to meet a two-hour continuing education requirement for suicide awareness and prevention program.  Before completing any suicide awareness training program, please check with your State Board of Education, State Teacher Certification Board or school superintendent to determine that the program meets the requirements for your State.

You will be eligible to receive your certificate once all chapters of a module have been viewed and you have successfully completed the quiz that follows.

National Community Affiliates
Acadia Health
Lifepoint Behavioral Health
Signature Healthcare Services
National Awareness Affiliates
Attorneys General